Homepage Sports Football
Close Panel

Search St.Geralds


Written by Administrator


2008 Juvenile League Champions

Gaelic football in St Gerald’s has a proud tradition within the college, with teams competing in all grades in the Connacht Champships and Leagues in the past years. St Gerald’s competes in the A grade in all competions:

  • First Year
  • Second Year
  • Juvenile
  • Junior
  • Senior

Because of its location in the heart of Western GAA country, football was of course a huge game, but the College also enjoyed big success in basketball in the 1990’s.

In football, St.Gerald’s has produced some top quality football talent, including many who would go on to represent Mayo in All-Ireland Finals. St. Gerald’s has produced 20 members of both the Minor and Senior Mayo panels and management of 2013 such as Aidan O’ Shea, Cillian O Connor ,Robert  Hennely, Tom Cunniffe and James Horan  were all bred in St.Gerald’s. The College has also enjoyed a long and much celebrated rivalry against St. Jarlath’s College Tuam.  This shows that St. Gerald’s is the nursery of Mayo Gaelic Football.

Since St. Gerald’s establishment as a Kingpin of Connacht Football in 1996 it has made local clubs such as Ballintubber, Breaffy and Castlebar Mitchells the central powers of Mayo Football and Connacht football. This could be seen in 2013’s county final, when 28 out of 30 players on the starting teams of Breaffy and Castlebar Mitchell’s.
St.Gerald’s College has also helped Ballintubber, Breaffy, Castlebar Mitchells and Parke dominate the underage scene of Mayo Gaelic Football with Parke winning the U 14 championship, Castlebar Mitchells winning  the U 16 A League and Breaffy  showing victorious in the Minor “A” club championship.
St. Gerald’s itself has won 5 Connacht GAA Post Primary Schools Senior A Championships . It is also the incumbent King of Connacht schools football when they won 2013. Under the management of Mr. Daniel Forde, they defeated the traditional King of Colleges Football  St. Jarlath’s College in the final 0-09 to 1-04. In the same year they also won the Flanagan Cup and the Connacht “A” league.
St. Gerald’s also has a number of well-known local and national GAA personalities such as Donal Newcombe ( Castlebar Mitchells Connacht Club Champions Captain), Martin Carney of R.T.E and Mr. Joe Mac Cabe (Former Longford Legend)


Connacht 'A' Champions 2013 


Last Updated on Feb262014